What is the VA Conceal Carry and Home Defense Fundamentals class?

The Concealed Carry and Home Defense Fundamentals is a comprehensive course for anyone considering owning or carrying a firearm for self-defense. The course is a complete guide to understanding conflict avoidance and situational awareness; home security and home defense; handgun, shotgun and AR-15 basics; shooting fundamentals; the physiology of violent encounters; the legal aspects of using deadly force (including knowing what to do in the aftermath); and a complete guide on gear, gadgets, and ongoing training.

Upon completion of the course you will receive a certificate that is recognized as your instructional course for a Virginia Concealed Carry permit. Simply take the certificate, along with your completed Application for Concealed Handgun Permit Form SP-248 to your General District Court to apply.

Who is the USCCA?

The United States Concealed Carry Association is one of the most respected organizations in the firearms community and an authority on concealed carry laws, firearms safety and home defense. Formed in 2003, USCCA President Tim Schmidt together with co-founder Tonnie Schmidt set out to build a resource for people interested in expanding their knowledge of firearm safety and home defense. With the launch of Concealed Carry Magazine and an online forum, the USCCA was born. They offer resources to learn your rights and responsibilities as a gun owner and develop your concealed carry confidence.

The Yamasaki Academy Woodbridge is not affiliated in any way with the USCCA or any other firearms organizations. It is, however, the organization under which all of our firearms instructors are personally certified.


No. The State of Virginia does not require live fire qualifications for a concealed carry permit. However, we do offer basic firearms courses that include live shooting at a local gun range with coach Kenton.
No. You may bring your own firearm, however we will ask you to unload and clear your gun upon entering the facility.
The Concealed Carry and Home Defense course is approximately 4 hours long. There are breaks given every hour and we provide lunch.
The Concealed Carry and Home Defense course is $175. This cost includes the Concealed Carry and Home Defense Fundamentals book by Michael Martin.
Yes. This course includes information on where and when you can carry concealed and/or open. It also includes information on when you may, and more importantly when you may NOT, use a firearm in self-defense.
The minimum age required for applying for a concealed carry permit in Virginia is 21 years old. However, we will allow children aged 14 or older to attend he course with their parent or guardian present.